The Art of Trusting God’s Plan – Patricia Anne O. Garcia

Today is March 29, 2020 Passion Sunday. Today’s Gospel reading is taken from the Gospel According to John 11:1-45. Jesus rises Lazarus from the Dead.

As a student who loves to be involved in the process of making films and theater plays, may it be as a scriptwriter or a director, it is not uncommon for me to be emotionally attached to the characters in a story no matter how big or small their role is. It is not the type of attachment where I want that character to turn into a real person. Rather, it is the type of attachment where being a witness to a character’s growth makes my heart swell with pride, being a witness to a character’s death feels like my heart’s stabbed a hundred times. It is the same with readers bargaining for a plot twist and audience begging for a miracle.

“The one whom you love is sick.”

In today’s Gospel, Martha and Mary mourns over the death of their brother, Lazarus. In this time of pandemic, I mourn over the death of my brothers and sisters around the world. I mourn over the reality that a lot of injustices still occur despite the fact that a lot of people are suffering. Just like Martha and Mary, as I reflect, I send Jesus the message that the people He love are sick and in need of comfort and healing.

Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.
But even now I know that whatever you ask of God, God will give you.”

Just like Martha, I remain hopeful that through the Lord’s intercession, God will listen. I have faith that all those who are suffering will be able to rise up, all those who are afflicted will be healed and all those who died will be reunited with God.

“Your brother will rise.”

In the Gospel, Jesus assured Martha by saying this. In His context, Lazarus will rise up from the dead. In our society today, we can interpret the word “rise” in many ways. To those afflicted by the disease, their way of rising is equivalent to their recovery, to the frontliners, their protection from contracting the disease, and to those transport groups, business owners, and workers whose jobs were affected, may they rise again as they gain sustenance and support from the government.

“Did I not tell you that if you believe
   you will see the glory of God?”

In times of suffering, there are times that I question God’s existence, only to realize that I failed to have faith in His plans. Staying strong in the midst of a pandemic may seem hard but I should not forget that I am not alone. That Jesus is there to provide comfort in times of distress. I should have faith that God will be there for me and for everyone around the world.

Just like how writers and directors are emotionally attached to their characters, God is connected to each and every one of us. He is there in times of struggle and triumph. He knows our person, our strengths and our vulnerabilities. Just like how readers bargain for a plot twist, I pray to God, asking for a miracle, not only for myself, but for the whole world. I pray to God that this pandemic may come to an end, ending the suffering of mankind. I pray that those who died may be reunited in God’s embrace, and may their loved ones be granted with renewed strength to carry on with their lives. Primum Regnum Dei.

Patricia Anne O. Garcia is the scriptwriter of the musical play “Sa Bagong Pag-asa” and the director of the AdNU JHS Short film “Dusay”.

Photo: Mr. Meljohn Tatel, Director of Junior High School Admissions and Aid

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started