QUARANTHINGS- Carmel Therese Cu


” […] Most of my fellow Filipinos, namely our frontliners, minimum wage workers, the less fortunate, and so on, are suffering because of this crisis. As I comfortably lounge at home composing this essay, people are risking their lives by violating the community quarantine just to have something to put on the table. People are risking their lives by exposing themselves to areas wherein the virus thrives because it’s their duty to do so. People are risking their lives every day, and this troubles me.
In spite of these, I’ve found solace in many things. My heart is at ease that my family is doing alright. I’m also relieved that my friends are doing fine as well, and in the midst of this crisis, I’m still able to talk to them thanks to social media. I’m able to direct my energy towards productivity too, despite being stuck at home. With all the free time in my hands, I was able to sharpen my skills and further pursue my passions. I’ve busied myself for the past days by improving my Mandarin and Hokkien, playing the piano, reading, painting, etc. Thus, I’m quite glad to say that nevertheless, I’ve found some peace in this crisis as well; I was able to get to know myself more and deeper appreciate the privileges I’ve been bestowed upon.
However, the new normal still frightens me. The uncertainty lingering in the air frightens me to the bone. But in this uncertainty lies hope. A lot has happened during the past weeks, but not everything turned out as bad as they seemed.
In line with this, I hope we may continue to abide the necessary regulations to keep our community in order, and I hope we may all realize how simple yet important some rules may be. Social distancing, for a matter. Still, amidst the chaos, I know that one day, things will turn out better, and one day everything will be okay again.”
Carmel Therese Cu, Grade 9 Junior High School Student

Share your Quarantine Story with us! Reach the Campus Ministry Office through Sir Val Dominic F. Monit on Facebook Messenger!
#PrayAtHome#StayAtHome#adnujhs

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started