#QUARANTHINGS – Genrev Ezra Reyes Sinogba

It was March 15, 2020 when the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) took effect all over the Philippines. At first, it didn’t bother me at all because while everybody is panicking about the pandemic, I was pre-occupied by a whole week of various performance tasks. My goal those days was to meet the deadlines. That’s all! I never noticed the days that I was staying at home.


After a week, I felt so relaxed. I can sleep any time I want, read stories from Amino App, played with my musical instruments, exchanged messages with friends online, fed my pet cat and enjoyed the moment by just lying down. So those moments became a routine, but I started to miss one thing, my one and only outdoor activity, which is basketball. Even I want to practice my basketball skills as much as I want, I can’t do about it. I felt so useless and as if I was deprived of freedom.

Long planned activities were postponed. Frustration were so visible at the moment. And I began to remember what my grandfather once said: that being a basketball player is not only about playing or winning; to be successful, you should stay reachable, stay in touch, and never isolate yourself. This pandemic made me realize that keeping in touch is very essential during this Home Quarantine. I learned to be thoughtful in my own little ways like sending emojis to my cousins, Tito or Tita just to let them know that I miss them and that I care for them, which I don’t usually do. I began to make some bonding moments with my siblings which I seldom did before, because I preferred to stay alone in my room. I’m a silent type of person. The experience of being locked down with my family for this long is a great blessing. I began to appreciate things which I considered unnecessary before. I learned a lot of life skills like cooking, dishwashing, folding clothes, cleaning my room, and even watering my mom’s plants without being told. I started not to be choosy with the food prepared for me because I’ve witnessed lots of people out there who have nothing to eat. I now value what it means to save electricity, water and even food.


I’ve come to understand that being a basketball player/varsity will not end up in the basketball court. My unquenchable inner drive to succeed can also be used during these days of pandemic. A wake up call for me to become responsible. A call for self-manifestation. I learned that if I can be responsible for myself, I can extend it better towards others. This is high time for me to be responsible now not only with my family but in the community I belong.


We can only really fight this pandemic if we begin it in our selves; by being obedient to the simple guidelines expected from us like social distancing, hand washing, wearing face mask, and frequent use of alcohol or hand sanitizers. With this, we can prevent ourselves from getting into further trouble.


It teaches me to appreciate the most essential things in life like my family, the quality time spent, living each day in prayer, hope, and positivity, and staying healthy as always. By being mindful and supportive to those deeply affected physically or emotionally, I believe that we will be able to surpass this pandemic and we will come out stronger than before.


Genrev Ezra Reyes Sinogba, Grade 8 Junior High School Student

Share your Quarantine Story with us! Reach the Campus Ministry Office through Sir Val Dominic F. Monit on Facebook Messenger!

#PrayAtHome
#StayAtHome
#adnujhs

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started