IGNATIUS IN ART DAY 1: Manifesting Love in the Acts of Service

Artwork by Paige Garchitorena
Reflection by Elaine Nicole V. Guevarra

“Lord, teach me to be generous.

Love is elusive and evasive for many teenagers. It is not easy to recognize love at first glance; even more finding love— which simply means that sharing love is beyond remarkable. It takes a generous heart to give love that asks for nothing in return and an open heart to fully accept love from someone without ifs and whys. 

Teach me to serve You as You deserve;

“Serving God by serving others” is the most significant learning Ateneo taught me. Back in 7th grade, our teachers would always tell us that God is present in the marginalized sector of society. Serving them is also like serving God. From then on, I devote my life in the service of others, even in small and simple ways. I try to help others as much as I can. Whenever my classmates, for instance, are finding difficulty in catching up with the lessons, I try to explain concepts in a simpler and relatable way for them to understand and remember the ideas easily. Volunteering in school and fund drives is also an act of service, so I always offer help. I join volunteer organizations in school by being a student volunteer in ANSGO and a peer volunteer which helps in preparing and welcoming Grade 7 Ateneans to be persons for others. 

As early as 5 years old, I already know what I dream to be in the future — a person who takes care of other people’s health. Thus, I have decided to pursue medicine in my future studies. As years go by, my dream never altered a single bit. Although still in high school, I make sure that I do not waste time in preparing the way towards that dream. I have committed to serve—doing my job as a class/club officer, helping my peers, and guiding my fellow students to be men and women for others. 

Service is love in action. It is never limited to seats of power. All it takes to serve is a willing heart and mind. 

To give and not to count the cost, to fight and not to heed the wounds, to toil and not to seek for rest, to labor and not to ask for reward, save that of knowing that I do Your will. 

Love in action means taking care of others by taking care of oneself. It means protection and commitment. It means delivering goodwill. Love in action means speaking up for people who are blinded, for people who are afraid, and for people who are silenced. It means listening to the cries for help, competence, and justice. Love means expecting nothing in return. Love ought to manifest itself more in deeds than in words.

Love is SERVICE

Love is… 

Sharing even to the extent of having less.

Enduring pain while making sacrifices for the greater good.

Rising and falling without giving up despite the obstacles.

Valuing the voices of the people.

Identifying one’s fault to correct it.

Connecting with people around you.

Engaging in acts of kindness.”

#IgnatiusInArt #adnujhs


“Ignatius in Art” is a 9-day series of artworks and reflections from our students focusing on the themes provided by Educate Magis: Global Network of Jesuit Schools. This is a project of the AdNU JHS Campus Ministry Office and the ANSGO JHS in celebration of the feast of St. Ignatius of Loyola.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started