Acceptance – Jhanina Sophia M. Bermas

Today is April 23, 2020. Thursday in the second week of Easter.

As a high school student, I encounter many changes in my everyday life. To big things such as being tasked to do things on my own or even just the small things, like noticing the miniscule growth of my height every now and then. Changes within and around me are prominent, mostly because I’m already in my formative years. Every day, I grow up in an agonizingly slow pace. Besides change, I’m being introduced to new things in forms of knowledge or new beliefs. In high school, every day is a day for learning new things like brand new knowledge or beliefs.

In the Gospel, Jesus talks to the people to communicate and bring forth the knowledge of the Good News. The people Jesus is talking to have never heard such things before, never heard of a Father that is above all and most importantly, loving. Change in these listeners’ lives came from Jesus’ words of knowledge and wisdom. I find myself to be like them, confronted with a belief that is strange and foreign. Change is something new, and in the Gospel change is Jesus’ words that encourages us yet conversely warns us about how and why we should accept the Word of God. I find myself to be like these listeners, encountered with something foreign and new.

But I have learned that change can be dealt with in a number of ways, but the true and most efficient way to deal with change is to accept it. In the modern world that I live in, acceptance can be one of the most taxing feats to do. For acceptance of God’s word entails that I should trust in Him and His love. As a teenager, trust is especially hard to muster and to give to other people. But I realize that God is not like other people. God is higher than us, as He comes from above. I can start accepting God and His Word by remembering that. Trust is hard  to give because of the fear that it might be broken, but God will not break my trust. For God is a loving god, He will not desert me whoever I may turn out to be.

Jhanina Sophia M. Bermas is an incoming grade 9 student. She is a debater and a student volunteer.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started