QUARANTHINGS – Sable Narvadez

“I played endless Telegram games with my friends, stayed up all night finishing shows on Netflix, tried working out and failed, streamed my favorite idol fancams, and even celebrated my brother’s birthday while stuck at home. But trust me, the plan I initially had for summer was so much more than that.

“You’ve got a once in a lifetime chance to stay at home and watch TV to save the world. Don’t mess it up!”

I came across this statement while browsing Twitter a few months back when the quarantine life was barely starting. Its accuracy with my supposed month-and-a-half long plan of watching all the Kdramas in my list cracked me up a bit, but I can’t deny that this tweet reeks of privilege.

I thought that if I had much time on my hands like this, there would be nothing but pleasure. However unlike what I expected, it wasn’t fulfilling. Neither because my plans were cancelled nor the extension of the community quarantine every 15 days, but because I know that the suffering of some people would have to be prolonged again until God knows when. 

If there’s one thing that this whole situation taught me, it’s that I should not and cannot choose to live in my little privilege bubble and stay blind. More than the pandemic itself, what I worry about is people trying to entrust with their lives the system that has failed them from the beginning. 

More than two months have passed yet the curve is far from being flattened. Call me young and foolish, but I can no longer tolerate authorities who refuse to take responsibility for their actions and cannot even stand by their own words. 

We’ve done our part, it’s time for them to do theirs.  

Sable Narvadez, Grade 9 Junior High School Student

Share your Quarantine Story with us! Reach the Campus Ministry Office through Sir Val Dominic F. Monit on Facebook Messenger!

#PrayAtHome

#StayAtHome

#adnujhs

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started