QUARANTHINGS – Mhikaela Dela Rama


“The very first time that I heard about Covid 19’s spreading made me curious because people around the country got alarmed; making rubbing alcohol, face masks and other medical protective products in demand. Well at first it didn’t bother me at all and it only made me think that people all around me are just overacting and paranoid. I continued thinking about school and reviewed in advance for my incoming term exams, instead of helping and compromising my parents who were also panicking because of this emerging pandemic, until such time that the cases rapidly increased, resulting to a high number of infection and deaths, not only nationwide but also worldwide. The pandemic compelled every country to observe home0based quarantine, broad lockdowns — making OFWs and workers stranded — and expanded medical protocol practices .


So because of these devastating events I have come to realize that COVID-19 is terrible but it brought with it some graces. There was grace because it gave me more quality-time with my family. It also made me discover and explore different activities that I don’t usually do.
But it was more of a bad thing for me first is because it made a sudden change in my everyday living. Activities that almost everyone of us are used to, like regular and summer classes, reunions, graduations and participating in religious activities were cancelled and prohibited. Also, it made me worried about OFWs and local frontliners since I also have relatives who were part of them; our very own superheroes battling to a certain villain that none of us can see. That’s why I began to ask myself: how can they cope alone with this sudden change? How can they balance their time and protect their family and countrymen at the same time? It left me astounded and I could only imagine this chaos in K-dramas and movies. All in all, the effects of this pandemic caused a major fall in our education that’s why the government is planning to make other forms of learning for this school year’s classes; a blended method of education. Even though some still disapprove of this idea, I humbly believe that this is a better choice than having none.”

Mhikaela Dela Rama, Grade 8 student Ateneo de Naga University Junior Highschool

Share your Quarantine Story with us! Reach the Campus Ministry Office through Sir Val Dominic F. Monit on Facebook Messenger!
#PrayAtHome#StayAtHome#adnujhs

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started