QUARANTHINGS – Sherisse Fernandez

“When the COVID-19 pandemic started, seeing the news from all over the world frightened me. I thought it was possible only in movies. It never came to my mind that it could happen in real life. We are currently grappling with an invisible deadly enemy, trying to understand how to live with threat posed by a virus.
During this quarantine, a lot of questions popped up in my mind. What will I do in the next few months? Can I survive this stay at home rule? And many more. The first week was alright. I did what I usually do during weekends. I wake up, eat, do chores, surf the internet, and sleep. But boredom stroke immediately. I did what I can do to entertain myself. I started watching anime and I found myself loving it. I also dug deeper into the KPOP hole and discovered groups that are worth ‘stanning’. I got to the point where I controlled what I eat and exercise. Fortunately, I’m still doing it right now. Not to forget my responsibility as a student, I studied some topics in advance in order to help me in the next school year. In an organization that I am a part of, we had an advocacy to make a tribute video to our dear frontliners and give health tips to fight COVID-19. We shared packs of relief goods to some families in our neighborhood who were deeply affected. We also had a chance to give simple snacks to our frontliners. By this, we express our sincerest gratitude to them who are our 24/7 fighters. Guiding and protecting us all throughout this pandemic.
I had more time to bond with my family. This pandemic made us even closer to God. Praying at night is our habit now because we know that God answers our prayers in His perfect time.
Watching the community come together gives me hope that we can combat this crisis. We’ll face different challenges in this new normal but this doesn’t end here. We can create a new routine to cope with what we’re facing now. As students, given that online class is part of our new learning system, we should stay focus and disciplined. “The more disciplined we become, the easier life gets”.
If there is anything that this pandemic has made me realized, it is that I shouldn’t complain about our current situation. Not all people have the privilege to stay at home and do everything or anything they want. Some people are taking risks not just the frontliners but also the essential workers to provide us our basic needs. I should be thankful.
I will take this “staying at home” as a challenge. I will do my part. I can be productive even at home. I will continue to discover myself on what I can do, what I can help, and what I can share.”

Veronica Sherisse Fernandez, Grade 8 Junior High School Student

Share your Quarantine Story with us! Reach the Campus Ministry Office through Sir Val Dominic F. Monit on Facebook Messenger!

#PrayAtHome
#StayAtHome
#adnujhs

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started