IGNATIUS IN ART DAY 9: “The man who sets about making others better is wasting his time, unless he begins with himself.”

Artwork and Reflection by Zedrick Clark San Antonio

St. Ignatius went through a series of ups and downs, among the most significant was when he was hit by a cannonball in 1521. While recuperating, he experienced  conversion which led him to walk in a different path, not his, but God’s. This change affected him so deeply that he left his own home. He had decided that he wanted to go to Jerusalem. On his way, he offered his sword to Our Lady at the Abbey of Montserrat which is the highlight in my work of art. I find the sword as a symbolism of detachment from the worldly things which moved him to journey within so he could mirror in himself the glory of the creator.  From then on, his ways made an impact in the life of the church and in the life of many people.

Like Ignatius, I too,  have many flaws in life. One of which is my attachment to things that would place me on a higher ground that is to over exert myself from doing great things for others because I thought I was helping them but that what I needed was a sense of recognition. But then again, I asked myself, “If I continue to do such things, where I would fit in the eyes of God’s generosity? Am I just doing these things to others so I would be recognized? Or is it the best way to serve God? Surely, as Ignatius had shown me, it ought to be the latter. His offering of himself to God was his response to God’s challenging call for him to turn away from things that forbid him to find his purpose in life.  And I think Ignatius had shown me how to do things right, that is, to make my life attuned with God.  I know that when I put God first in my life, I would not feel insecure because I already have everything, and that is, Him.

#IgnatiusInArt #adnujhs

“Ignatius in Art” is a 9-day series of artworks and reflections from our students focusing on the themes provided by Educate Magis: Global Network of Jesuit Schools. This is a project of the AdNU JHS Campus Ministry Office and the ANSGO JHS in celebration of the feast of St. Ignatius of Loyola.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started